simple sewing

Through one of Hanne‘s regular link round-ups I stumbled upon this piece at Sewing on the Edge. Lots of food for thought there. Certainly, the more pattern pieces and seam lines, the more control over shaping we get… And yet there’s something about simple sewing — sewing simple pieces with minimal seaming and shaping — that is really, really exciting.

(my two Scout tees)

Simple sewing makes for a great break from more complicated projects, those you need to slow down on and take breaks from to think the details and fit through properly. And it makes for probably the best way to learn to sew and motivate yourself further. The Craft Sessions has a great series on simple sewing and Felicia’s tip on finding the right fabric is pretty crucial for success, I think.

Loose-fitting tees in nice fabrics are great addition to your wardrobe, at least to what you wear at home, if you’re not confident about this fit. Woven tees are a new thing for me and I’m still figuring out how I feel about them, though I can’t deny they’re growing on me.

My usual fabric choice for them is rayon — the drape makes them look less boxy  despite the simplicity of their shape.

Apart from the Grainline Scout tee (which is the only pattern so far that was a “straight out of the pattern envelope” make for me), I’ve tried Marilla Walker’s Maya top (that one took some modification) and the tee from Simplicity 1366.

(Maya top and Simplicity 1366)

As a break from the Peony dress, I whipped up another Maya:

maya2-wip

(Maya 2, still unfinished in this photo)

Polka dot overkill? I’m not sure how I feel about this tee yet…

What about you? Do you like simple sewing?

4 thoughts on “simple sewing

  1. Thank you! I really like your blog, by the way. You’ve made some lovely garments (your Beatrix top in Nani Iro fabric is stunning!). I haven’t been sewing long and so I guess I’m a beginner. It seems like a safe label… because I really dislike the online debates about sewing level. They turn nasty too easily. I just try to learn new things at a pace that feels comfortable.

    In terms of difficulty, I think it’s always a convergence of fitting and sewing skills required. Fitting is a tricky fox of a skill. To stay sane, I like to reread this post by Sunny Standing: http://www.afashionablestitch.com/2013/sewing/the-myth-that-is-perfect-fit/.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much and thanks for your lovely comments on my blog, which I’ll answer separately. I totally agree: sewing shouldn’t be a competitive or nastily comparative thing I don’t think (although everything in life seems to attract competitiveness in the end). Having said that, I’ve found the community to be very welcoming so far, so let’s see… I’ve bookmarked your posts to read through properly later. I really love your style (writing and making!) – it’s extremely interesting and well-researched, and I’m looking forward to going through them. I agree on the fitting aspect of sewing. I’m working on a yoked top right now and have already ripped it out 3 times. Man! Still, patience is a virtue (I remind myself through gritted teeth, haha). I shall read your linked post with interest!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have to say, every time I rush myself to finish something and wing something though a little voice tells me to research it, it ends in unpicking (best case scenario) or an unwearable item. I ignore the time description on “fast” patterns (like those from Seamwork) and just let it take as long as it takes.

        In terms of fitting, I don’t always make a muslin. For simple garments, I cut out the pattern in Swedish tracing paper, which allows me to catch major issues, and then I try to do a baste-fitting before I sew the seams properly. Basting takes a while but so far it’s always turned out to be an important step for assessing fit issues.

        And thanks again for your kind words and for the conversation so far, on both blogs! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

