undies

I’m not going to lie, I went back and forth on whether to post these photos or not — not just because it’s underwear and oh so private but also because it’s not a particularly impressive sew. This is not alluring lingerie but just good ol’ undies.

Oh, what the hell, to make things less boring, here’s a modeled shot:

undies1-1
Thank you for modeling, Dolly. And thanks for adding the book for visual interest but I think it fails to distract from the uneven zigzag.

My greatest achievement was not losing it completely when it came to inserting elastic. You can see that my final three-step-zigzagging was pretty inconsistent. Sewing in elastic is very far from my idea of a fun time at the sewing machine.

Speaking of which, these were sewn completely on the sewing machine. The serger did the serger version of flipping the bird and mysteriously unthreaded its looper threads. I tried to rethread it following the instructions from the manual but that didn’t work. I’ll have to spend some time with the 80’s style DVD that came with it (no clue why it looks like that, I don’t think it is from the ’80s).

Since I had already put on the noisy walking foot and a fresh stretch needle, I made two more pairs. Lo and behold, more pictures of undies:

The pattern is Geneva from the February 2015 issue of Seamwork. I give it a definitive thumbs up.

2 thoughts on “undies

  1. Thank you :-). Elastic is not my friend, but I feel like we are at least working out a detente, which will hopefully result in more even zigzags.

    They are so comfy! I really should run to Pattern Review and write up a glowing review of this pattern. Panty perfection — at least if you ask me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

