jammies, finally

jammies2

Hello, everyone! I hope you’ve had a relaxing weekend celebrating Canada Day, pre-celebrating 4th of July, or simply enjoying a weekend either in its summery or wintery glory, depending where in the world you find yourselves.

Posting is slowing down here and will slow down even more as I’m preparing for a trip. It’s probably good to give you a chance to miss pictures of my trusted radiator, so no problem. Sewing, however, has been speeding up because the trip is making me keenly aware of wardrobe gaps.

The most serious one was jammies without holes torn by cat claws or worn out by time.

These ones are the happy marriage of two indie patterns I’d had on my to-sew list longer than I care to admit with a nice mystery vintage fabric find. The fabric breathes, wrinkles like nobody’s business, and, I think, it might be either a cotton or a rayon I can’t really identify.

The bottoms are the Margot pyjamas from Tilly Walnes’ Love at First StitchLet me just say that I love that book. I think it’s the best book out there for sewing newbies who want to make clothes rather than sew for the home. I really wasn’t interested in making pillowcases — simply because I didn’t need any new ones at that point. After making a tote bag (which I still use) I was dying to move on to simple clothes. I already had the Colette Sewing Handbook but was finding it way too difficult (despite the beginner label on the cover). Love at First Stitch was the helping hand I needed. I made the Delphine skirt as one of my first garment projects. I guess I needed a more solid push to finally make the Margots.

That push came not only from the approaching departure date but from a review of the newest companion book to The Great British Sewing Book. Elisalex from By Hand London made some truly glamourous pj’s using two patterns in From Stitch to Style. I wanted to translate that fun silhouette and detail from the black silk pj’s into my beige floral mystery fabric.

jammie-pocket
patch pocket on the back

Back to the pattern: Tilly’s instructions are clear and very beginner-friendly. The only bit I’m not sure about is the length of the drawstring. I might have misunderstood the recommended length to cut because mine came out on the short side. I’m glad I decided to insert elastic in addition to the drawstring.

If (honestly, not “if” but “when”) I make these again, I’ll put in side seam pockets. I like the look of the patch pocket but I find myself always searching for the side seam pockets.

Would I recommend the Margot pattern? Definitely. And I will sew it again. I just hope my laziness doesn’t delay that.

The camisole is Savannah from Seamwork.

savannah1

This was my first attempt at a bias-cut garment. To help myself out a bit, I traced the pattern pieces and taped them to the half-pieces from the pattern to get whole pieces.

My mystery fabric was perhaps slightly thicker than the recommended fabrics because I wasn’t able to turn the ends of the straps under again to get a clean finish at the end. The straps were tricky to make, overall. They’re pretty narrow and difficult to topstitch.

details: straps, lace on the neckline, narrow hem

I departed from the pattern slightly on the neckline finish. I attached the lace to the front only and bound the back with a bias strip. The lace isn’t as scratchy as I worried it might be but I still think the bias strip feels better on the back.

Would I recommend the Savannah pattern? Yes… with some hesitation about those straps and their attachment. I think I’d like to take a look at other camisole patterns first. That said, I’d like to try the version for knit fabrics.

What’s your favorite nightwear? Any pattern recommendations?

3 thoughts on “jammies, finally

  1. It’s funny, in one of your pictures I was admiring your top stitching on the straps!
    Your pyjamas look really lovely and comfy.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I haven’t really worn them apart from these photos, so the real test is yet to come 🙂

      The top stitching ended up all right, all things considered. Perhaps because I did make the straps slightly wider than the pattern said (sewed them up with a smaller seam allowance). I don’t know if I’d have been able to top stitch if I’d followed the pattern exactly.

      PS: I love the name of your blog! And I really love your wax print Almada robe — it’s lovely. Now off to check out what else you’ve sewn and written about 🙂

      Like

      1. Oh yeah, the real test is actually wearing them, pjs also get a lot of ‘hard’ wear, certainly with me as I toss a lot.

        Thank you for checking out my blog, it’s very new and I really appreciate everyone who looks/comments/likes, so thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

