Hazel in a heat wave

Do you have this too? My reaction to the recent heat wave was to quickly sew up a dress for that weather. The motivating logic was that if I sewed fast enough maybe I could outrun the heat. That more mature part of me knew it doesn’t work that way, but I let wishful thinking take over. And at the end I was rewarded with this:

DSCN6396_picmonkeyed

 

This is the third Hazel dress for me. I made two last summer and I’ve been wearing them a lot.

I have to admit, though, that since last year my approach to fitting has changed a bit. I put in a lot of work into fitting the bodice in those first two versions and as a result they fit like a glove. It’s not a bad thing but a year and several heat waves later my focus has changed. I now want clothes to move well along with my movements.

So this one is more relaxed. I did, however, take in the side seams a little bit (not as much as in the first two, but still). I cut a size down from my measurements and the fit is still pretty relaxed.

The fabric is seersucker partly underlined (skirt and bodice front) with cotton lawn. This was my first time sewing with seersucker and I was a little wary of the crinkly texture. It went fine, though, since the fabric’s stable.

DSCN6398_picmonkeyed

I rarely wear white, so of course the first time I wore this out I ended up with a cinnamon stain. It only makes sense. (I got it out and these pictures were actually taken post-stain, so whew.)

Concluding thoughts:

I have a lot of love for this pattern and I thoroughly enjoyed sewing it again. Sewing something you’ve already cut out (yes, I’m often that lazy) and already fitted is really relaxing — even when I’m basically melting in the heat. Having said that, after three versions, all of which are in heavy rotation in the summer, I think it might be wise to retire this pattern for a while. (Well, we’ll see what happens next summer, right?).

What’s on your summer go-to pattern list? Or do you always try new patterns? Looking forward to hearing from you.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Hazel in a heat wave

  1. This is gorgeous! I don’t have any seersucker in my wardrobe at the moment but it’s so perfect for summer. I’ve had a shortage of sun dresses this year as a few I have no longer fit/are comfortable for play with a toddler. So I’ve been living in my cotton Megan Mielsen Brumby skirt, an Inari dress, and a knit dress made from the Plantain tee pattern. Next summer I’ll need to make some sun dresses! I love the Hazel pattern, especially the shape of the bodice.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I didn’t have any seersucker in my wardrobe before this but I’m glad I decided to give it a try. It was very cheap at Joann’s when I bought it. I hesitated about what to make out of it until I realized the stripes would be perfect for the Hazel bodice.

      I recommend at least partly underlining or lining it — because it’s somewhat sheer — in a lightweight cotton. It’s wonderfully breathable that way and not too heavy.

      Like

  2. Even if you’ve already made a few, the nice thing about this pattern is that it can be customized so much. This is cute!

    And in the heat, TNTs are almost the only way to go. I’ve made four or five Layton rompers (Seamwork) this summer which is kind of dumb because I only wear them around the house, but I guess that’s what simple summer sewing is supposed to be about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And I absolutely agree about TNTs and sewing in hot weather — I feel the need to go on autopilot a bit if I’m to get anything done. Which has meant procrastinating endlessly on a shirt dress I cut out in July.

      Like

  3. I’m a die-hard white clothing lover, so this is adorable to me! I like a more relaxed fit in the summer too, far less cloying and it’s nice to get some air next to the skin to cool you off 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! I like this dress very much. It’s my step one in terms of bringing in more white into my wardrobe. Black and navy are my safe colors and that, unfortunately, means I often end up with too few items to combine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

