sewing for kids you can’t measure

That was the task I gave myself before the trip. My unsuspecting gift recipients were three children: one about 2.5 years old, one a newborn, and the third one still on the way.

Here’s what I made for the two tiniest ones:

birdie-set

tiger-set

It would probably help to have my cat to pose alongside for scale but it was one of those rare occasions when he didn’t want to take a nap on the cutting mat.

Both patterns were free. The pants are from Made by Rae. The raglan tee came from this blog. I’d definitely sew the pants again but I think I’d like to check out other tee patterns, possibly with a different sleeve construction. The cuff details on the sleeves were very fiddly. I don’t want to blame it on the pattern because it’s possible I might have made them fiddlier than necessary as I rushed to finish up before the trip.

That’s not all. I also made bibs (using this free template).

bandana-bibs

Sewing them was quick and fun until it came to inserting the snaps. This time I just reached for the snaps from the kit included with the snap setter. Success rate: 3 out of 4, meaning — one of the bibs has an unexpected duet of snaps on one side. Snaps are just not my friends. In things I make for grown-ups I am thereby sentenced to always laboring over buttonholes. But buttonholes wouldn’t have worked here, so maybe this is the last of bibs for me unless I find a snap-setting partner?…

Finally, here’s what I made for the bigger kid, though with her I had a tougher nut to crack since she’s at that stage where she gets to grow more or less, or differently, than your standard sizes. She’s in the age of unpredictability to my untrained eye.

She seems tall to me, but then I haven’t known that many two-and-a-half-year-olds and she’s also one of my favorites, so I’m likely to attach whatever superlatives I can find to how I see her.

I ended up making one thing that might fit her soonish (a tee), and one that will have to wait:

birdie-tee

Here‘s the tee pattern, another free one.

The pants are probably my favorite item. I made them from Butterick See & Sew 3889, and they will have to wait a longer while to fit. I hope hipster foxes don’t go out of style before then!

fox-pants

fox-pants-back

The sassy pocket is my addition. I hope the parents don’t come to curse me for creating this convenient hiding place for random wonderful and horrifying “treasures.”

Will I sew more clothes for kids? Likely! Even likelier if I find a sneaky way to get the recipients measured. So many free patterns and tutorials tell you to either measure the kid or trace their existing clothes. That’s not really an option for an aunt who lives far away. Unless Skype gets into VR mode.

What have you been sewing?

11 thoughts on “sewing for kids you can’t measure

  1. So adorable! Great fabric choices too.
    I’ve been making lots of evening wear that it is way too cold here to photograph, and now getting ready to sew up a storm for Indie Pattern Month over at The Monthly Stitch. Are you going to join in with that?

    Like

    1. Thanks! I love seeing what everyone makes for Indie Pattern Month, and I’ve been pondering joining in. But it’s mostly too hot for sewing here in the summer, and… it seems to me I’m sewing with indie patterns less the more Burda issues I get. I also brought back an issue of Patrones from my trip and there’s several patterns calling my name there.

      Anyway, I wish you could step through a magic door and get your evening wear pictures done here because I can’t wait to see what you’ve been sewing šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They are pretty basic pieces – 2 more bias cut camisoles, a sequinned stretch mini, and a chiffon skirt (to be hemmed) – but I will get up the guts to strip off to model them. Our house doesn’t have great inside spaces, and outside – brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!
        I do have some more exciting evening pieces to make up after IPM: some pants, tops, and a kimono style jacket. My parcel from Mood arrived today from the US. It has 2 pieces specifically earmarked for evening. šŸ™‚ I may have to duck out a lunchtime to pick it up and look at all the lovely things!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. They sound exciting to me šŸ˜‰ Speaking of camisoles, that’s an item I need but keep putting off making. Recently, this Burda pattern from an issue I happen to have caught my eye. I’m thinking NOT sequins. It could be good in both a lighter or a heavier crepe, I think.

          As far as photos are concerned, I’m too much of a chicken to pose outside (the neighbors!) and the one space I seem to have settled on always steals the show with the damn shiny doorknob. The trials of renting… But you’ll get no criticism from me if your photo background is less than ideal šŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Looks like a good pattern! Fancy strap work. I took mine from the top of a vogue nightie pattern! Deffo not sequins tho, speaking from experience lacerated armpits are no fun!
            My neighbors know i am a showgirl so they are probably too bored to care about me posing up a storm in our garden: the joys of having no shame! But while it’s cold perhaps i just need to get over having less than ideal pictures.

            Like

  2. These are all so cute, the prints on the fabrics are great! I’m currently sewing up 3 bucket hats & some Sunny Day shorts – both are Oliver+S children’s patterns & both are free! I’d highly recommend them – I make some every summer for my son & for children of my friends & family.

    Like

  3. Oh these are so cute!!! I probably prefer seeing for my daughter than I do myself – she is the rare exception to my mantra of selfish sewing – but there’s something so satisfying about sewing dinky kids clothing isn’t there!!! Xx

    Like

  4. So cute! I always liked sewing for my boys but I’m finding sewing for my granddaughter to be a little more fiddly. I still enjoy it but at the same time it makes me a little anxious.

    Like

    1. You’ve sewn some lovely little dresses. I would never have guessed they caused you some anxiety. You have a good eye for prints, so I’m sure your granddaughter must love the things you’ve made for her šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

