so good, I made it twice

The skirt from Simplicity 2215.

simplicity2215_envelopeI originally bought it for the dress but then swiftly put myself in the Limbo of Hesitation. I didn’t feel like making a muslin and I was just stuck in a loop, fretting about the odds that the combination of the high neckline and voluminous skirt would make me the opposite of what the model in this linked photo is achieving. Because, moment of truth, I don’t strut into work with all the buttons undone, quite the opposite, so…

But that skirt.

I’m paraphrasing here, but it seems to me that I encountered this opinion in several places: “those asymmetrical pleats will change your perspective on pleats.” I wasn’t sure but I’m now totally on that bandwagon. I love them.

simplicity2215_rose+b_helmi_2
Skirt #1 with an unblogged Helmi blouse in black rayon

I had this beautiful floral fabric in my stash for a while now. The pattern’s too intense for me to dress myself in it head to toe, though I can’t get enough of those roses. I’ve used it in facings and pockets. It’s a pretty stiff (canvas?) second-hand find. And I think it was just the perfect pairing for this skirt pattern.

I had another well-loved remnant in my stash, from this dress. So I made another skirt.

simplicity2215_black+burdabookshirt2
Details:
Pattern: Simplicity 2215 view C; both skirts lengthened by 2.25″; black skirt squeezed out of a remnant due to which one pleat on the front and one pleat on the back were sacrificed but things worked out fine.
Fabrics: skirt #1 – mystery fabric (canvas?) bought second-hand; skirt #2 – remnant of the “Sprinkle” quilting cotton from Cotton and Steel
Notions: thread; skirt #1 – 7″ invisible zipper, navy single-fold bias tape for the hem, hook and bar; skirt #2 – 7″ lapped zipper, hook and bar
Seam finish, hems, etc.: skirt #1 – serged side seams, hem hand-sewn and finished with bias tape, waistband finished by hand; skirt #2 – serged side seams, double-turned handsewn invisible hem; waistband finished by hand
Fun fact: I went with one pocket in the right side-seam and am pleased; I worried it would feel asymmetrical but, no, it’s fine.

Verdict: another great simple pattern!

PS: I don’t think I can write much more about the Helmi blouse — not when I’m sewing it straight up from the pattern with only minor changes. This one was basically like the blue one construction-wise. It all started with these unusual buttons with a floral motif:

b_helmi-buttondetail

So I end with a prognosis: more Helmis to come and, possibly, more Simplicity 2215.

What patterns have you hooked?

18 thoughts on “so good, I made it twice

        1. Nice! Now I’m on the lookout for some pencil or straight skirt patterns for work. I actually have one skirt in progress, but it’s one with lining, and that usually makes me procrastinate, so it’s still sitting there half-made.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Lovely skirts both, and glad to see that helmi too. After my last post I’ve decided I need a bold print skirt in my life. This is just cementing that. I love how the skirt looks both vintage and modern at the same time. Fab.

    Like

    1. Thanks! I keep wearing both of these a lot, most often dressed down – with short-sleeve tees. I’m glad I finally used this pattern. There are more patterns like that sitting in my stash while I can’t make up my mind.

      Like

  2. Wow you are so productive!! All these makes are gorgeous and make lovely outfits. I love that floral print and the pleats. I just need to get some white lining fabric then I’ll be making Brumby #4 hopefully (I’ve not tried fitting the pattern pieces on my fabric yet & I think will need some placement magic to do so!). I’ve also got another plantain tee cut out which I think will be my sixth version of that pattern so they’re definitely my top patterns!

    Like

    1. All the recent blog posts are about my backlog. Some of these things I’ve been wearing for weeks already (the floral skirt, especially).

      I really like your versions of the Brumby skirt, so I’ll be looking forward to the new one 🙂
      And Plantain tees are always, always a great idea. I should make another one soon, too!

      Like

  3. I love your pleated skirts – the pleats are exactly the right width for the big floral pattern I reckon, and the black one is super too (I like that fabric everytime I see it). Also – the white shirt really suits you – I hope you are wearing it a lot. How do you find the one pocket now you’re been wearing your garments a little? It’s an interesting idea! I totally agree on the Plantain front. I’m planning to make another couple and I really fancy extending it into a dress, but I’m not sure if that would work very well. You haven’t tried it have you?

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’ve cut out a camisole (finally!) to wear underneath the white shirt. That will make me less shy about wearing it to work. Outside of work, I’m a bit less concerned but at work I feel the need to be buttoned up and just the opposite of flirty.

      As for the one pocket in the skirts — still fine with it, and would do it again.

      I need to make more Plantain tees, but that’s obvious probably. With the days getting colder, I’ll be wearing knits more and the Plantain remains my go-to pattern. When I made Plantain dresses I added either gathered skirts or flared skirts. I have yet to try just lengthening the tee. Kathryn has made a great one (click here for the blog post). I think it comes down to getting the amount of flare right.

      Like

      1. With your job, I completely understand why you’d feel like that! It was a little different in my last company – it was slacker central! Could be fun though! Thanks so much for the link; I’ll check it out. You’re right – the flare was exactly what I was thinking about since I guess that makes it slightly less straightforward to lengthen than a standard tee. I may give it a go. Can you believe it’s almost autumn? Crazy.

        Like

Leave a Reply

